Board of Directors/Administration


TCIDA Board of Directors

Rich John

First appointed to IDA: 1/14/16
Current IDA term: 1/1/22 – 12/31/22
Tompkins County Legislature


Rich has spent twenty years as a general practice partner in a local law firm, and nine years serving as the general counsel and vice president of compliance for a global product testing and inspection company, Intertek. Currently, Rich John is a member of the Government Operations Committee and serves as the Chair of the Public Safety Committee.

Shawna Black

First appointed to IDA: 1/18/22
Current IDA term: 1/1/22 – 12/31/22
Tompkins County Legislature

Shawna Black joined the Tompkins County Legislature in November 2017. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Management and Economics. Shawna brings to the Legislature her diverse experience as an Executive Director in senior living, a Recruiter for TCAT and Air Japan, and as the HIPAA Privacy Officer and Corporate Compliance Auditor at the Southern Tier AIDS Program. In 2022, she was voted at Chair of the County Legislature

Jeff Gorsky
First appointed to IDA: 12/15/20
Current IDA term: 1/1/21 – 12/31/22
IAED Board  Appointment


Jeff Gorsky, CPA, is a partner at Sciarabba Walker & Co., LLP. He joined the firm in 1992 and has been a partner since 2001. He is head of the firm’s Consulting department and serves as leader of the firm’s High-Technology and Emerging Businesses specialty practice area. His emphasis is on small business consulting, new business startups, local entrepreneurs, and taxation.  Over the years, he has assisted clients in strategic planning, mergers and acquisitions, business valuations, financing, and new business startups.

Mike Sigler

First appointed to IDA: 2/8/18
Current IDA term: 1/1/22 – 12/31/22
Tompkins County Legislature


Mike Sigler has served on the Tompkins County Legislature for two non-consecutive terms from 2006 to 2010 and then from 2014 to present. Mike also works for Park Outdoor Advertising full time. Mike worked in television, as an Anchor, Reporter and Producer.

Todd Bruer

Todd Bruer

Business Manager
IBEW Local 241
134 Cecil A Malone Drive
Ithaca N.Y. 14850
( 607 ) 272-2809

First appointed to TCIDA: 2/4/21
Current TCIDA term: 1/1/21 – 12/31/22
Organized labor Representative



John Guttridge

607-277-8585 x 00
First appointed to IDA: 6/4/18
Current IDA term: 1/1/21 – 12/31/22
At-Large Director

John Guttridge founded Brightworks Computer Consulting (then Black Box Computer Consulting) in 2004 as a one-man operation based in his dining room and grew it to a 16 employee operation. He is deeply involved in the ongoing redevelopment of downtown Ithaca. He serves on the Board of the Downtown Ithaca Alliance (where he chairs the Downtown Operations Committee), the Board of the State Theater of Ithaca, and is President of the State Theater Foundation Board. He is also integral to the team of people that works to bring Wizarding Weekend to life.

Faith Vavra

Vice Chair
First appointed to IDA: 1/1/22
Current IDA term: 1/1/22 – 12/31/23
Municipal Official – Chief of Staff, City of Ithaca

Faith serves as Chief of Staff for the City of Ithaca, the first woman to hold that post. Previously, she worked for Southern Tier 8 Regional Board and as Deputy District Director for U.S. Representative Anthony Brindisi’s NY22 Congressional District office, Secretary to the Deputy County Executive of Broome County, and Adjunct Instructor of Criminal Justice/Forensics at SUNY Broome.

Faith holds a Master of Criminal Justice from the University of South Carolina and a Master of Public Administration from Troy University. She is a member of the board of several regional nonprofits and is also a FEMA Public Information Officer and published author. In 2020, Faith was recipient of the Broome County Status of Women Council’s Woman of Distinction Award and the Junior League’s Watrous Bowl Award.


TCIDA Administrative Director

The Tompkins County Industrial Development Agency is managed by Ithaca Area Economic Development.

Heather McDaniel
Administrative Director, Tompkins County IDA
President, Ithaca Area Economic Development
119 East Seneca Street, Suite 200
Ithaca, NY 14850

TCIDA Legal Counsel

Russell Gaenzle – Attorney at Law
Harris Beach PLLC
99 Garnsey Road
Pittsford, NY 14534

TCIDA Advisory Committee

Katherine Borgella

Tompkins County Planning Department


Lisa Holmes

Tompkins County Administrator

Andrew Braman

Deputy Controller, Tompkins County Finance Department

Additional TCIDA Committees

Finance & Audit Committee
(Audit Committee established 2008;
Finance & Audit Committee established 2018)
Rich John, Chair
John Guttridge
Jeff Gorsky

Housing Committee
(Housing Committee established 2019)

John Guttridge, Chair
Shawna Black
Todd Bruer
Nels Bohn (IURA)
Jennifer Kusznir (City of Ithaca)

Governance Committee
(Governance Committee established 2008)
Rich John
Mike Sigler, Chair
Faith Vavra